Top

Daily Tip: How to Allow Users to Delete Themselves From Your WordPress Site

April 30, 2011

Sometimes a user will want to completely delete himself from your site. If you’d like to make that process easy and available on the front-end, you can use a plugin called Delete Me. It allows specific WordPress roles, with the exception of administrator, to delete themselves.

After you install and activate the plugin, users will be able to delete themselves on the Users -> Your Profile subpanel or on any Post or Page using the Shortcode [plugin_delete_me /]. In the settings you can select from among specific WordPress roles ( e.g. Subscriber, Contributor, etc. ) and grant permissions on role basis for self-deleting rights. When a user deletes himself he will be redirected to a landing page URL of your choice.

Because this plugin/widget is provided free of charge, I simply ask you to link back to Pressography.com in a post on your blog, or from one of your sites. It doesn't need to be anything fancy - just a note saying that you're using it, and whether or not you like it. However, there is no requirement that you do this, you're free to use the plugin regardless.

Comments

Got something to say?

Bottom
Article Archive  |  This site is a historical archive of pressography.com, a WordPress plugin and theme blog that published between 2006 and 2012. It is preserved for reference and is not operated by, affiliated with, or endorsed by its original authors. Nothing here is for sale and no form on this site is active. If you are the original owner and would like this domain returned, please get in touch.