Daily Tip: Disable WordPress Users without Deleting Them
December 24, 2011
If you run a WordPress site that allows users to register for one reason or another, then there’s a good chance you’ve come across a situation where revoking their access is necessary, if only temporarily. This is not always for negative reasons, of course. There are all sorts of reasons why you would need to do this.
If you delete a user in WordPress, then the content they’ve added needs to either be deleted along with them or assigned to another user. Sometimes neither of these choices is desirable.
Enter the User Control plugin.
This plugin easily lets you disable users (and then re-enable them if you choose). It also lets you disable all new users by default if you choose.
Find the User Control plugin here.
Photo: Access denied and free pass tablets set from BigStock
Because this plugin/widget is provided free of charge, I simply ask you to link back to Pressography.com in a post on your blog, or from one of your sites. It doesn't need to be anything fancy - just a note saying that you're using it, and whether or not you like it. However, there is no requirement that you do this, you're free to use the plugin regardless.



Comments
Got something to say?